Part of Rila lakes

April 29, 2015
contest: Most Beautiful Landscape Photo
Play for fun
Part of Rila lakes /media/flashcomm?action=mediaview&context=normal&id=3211
N/A -
Voting has ended
Rating votes
Avg. rating
Martin Nikolov Male

The Seven Rila Lakes are a group of lakes of glacial origin (glacial lakes), situated in the northwestern Rila Mountains in Bulgaria. They are the most visited group of lakes in Bulgaria. The lakes are situated between 2,100 and 2,500 metres elevation above sea level.
Each lake carries a name associated with its most characteristic feature. The highest one is called Salzata ("The Tear") due to its clear waters that allow visibility in depth. The next one in height carries the name Okoto ("The Eye") after its almost perfectly oval form. Okoto is the deepest cirque lake in Bulgaria, with a depth of 37.5 m. Babreka ("The Kidney") is the lake with the steepest shores of the entire group. Bliznaka ("The Twin") is the largest one by area. Trilistnika ("The Trefoil") has an irregular shape and low shores. The shallowest lake is Ribnoto Ezero ("The Fish Lake") and the lowest one is Dolnoto Ezero ("The Lower Lake"), where the waters that flow out of the other lakes are gathered to form the Dzherman River.

Categories: Photography

6 comments from 6 voubsters
Racho   Красота!
May 4, 2015 07:33:10 PM UTC
Maya Ilieva   Красиво!
May 4, 2015 07:28:34 PM UTC
Kristian Krustev   beautiful
May 2, 2015 07:09:54 PM UTC
Martin Nikolov   Thank you!
April 30, 2015 01:59:21 PM UTC
MaRia Mc   great,vote 4 u
April 29, 2015 08:28:26 PM UTC
Subscribe to our newsletter
Areas of Interest
Most Popular Media